March 8, 2017

I went to the Geospatial Metadata: A Survey of Tools workshop today in the UI library presented by Jeremy Kenyon. He covered a variety of tools for helping to explain scientific and academic metadata and his presentation  can be found here Open Science Framework

I’m not exactly sure this will be of use in my scholarship beyond providing date, time and place to digital assets I create or collect but I’m curious to explore more of what ArcGIS has to offer that I could utilize in my classes.  It’s also valuable knowledge that UI licenses can be accessed here: http://www.uidaho.edu/infrastructure/its/services/software/esri-software

The NKN Editor is also a cool mapping tool.  NKN Metadata Editor

I did find it interesting that ISO (International Standards Organization) https://www.iso.org/home.html engineering standards apply to these tools just as they do to cameras.  However, I still typically think of ISO as a way to manipulate and control light, I guess I’m a perpetual video geek.

Leave a Reply

